Four Awards Honoring Advocates’ Efforts Toward Patient Safety

ROLLING MEADOWS, Ill., OCTOBER 23, 2019 – The American Society for Dermatologic Surgery Association (ASDSA) is proud to announce the recipients of its annual Patient Safety Hero awards this week at the ASDS Annual Meeting in Chicago, Illinois.

ASDSA State Legislative Patient Safety Heroes
The ASDSA State Legislative Patient Safety Hero Award is presented to a state legislative member who has contributed significantly to a successful campaign centered on patient safety in his or her state. Two awardees were named in 2019: Illinois State Representative John Connor and Florida State Senator Travis Hutson. Representative Connor championed ASDSA’s SUNucate initiative in his home state of Illinois, bringing sun safety to children by allowing them to possess and apply sunscreen at school, while Senator Hutson worked to ensure Floridians have access to FDA-approved sunscreen without restrictions on ingredients.

ASDSA State Dermatological Society Patient Safety Hero
The ASDSA State Dermatological Society Patient Safety Hero Award is given to a state dermatological society that has worked effectively on behalf of the dermatologic surgery specialty and patient safety. This year’s winner is the Illinois Dermatological Society (IDS). IDS was a lead supporter during the need for SUNucate legislation, protecting children from skin cancer by allowing them to use sunscreen at school and day camps. Amy Derick, MD, is president of IDS and championed this initiative.

ASDSA Patient Safety Hero
Another organization that contributed significantly to the success of the Illinois state SUNucate legislation is the Pediatric Sun Protection Foundation, founded in 2012 by Amy Brodsky, MD, as a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization. Its mission is to prevent skin cancer by educating children and caretakers about the dangers of childhood sun exposure.

“With 3.5 million skin cancer procedures performed last year by ASDSA members, awareness around prevention and early detection is as critical as ever,” said ASDSA President Murad Alam, MD, MBA. “Each of these Patient Safety Heroes worked tirelessly to promote sun safe behavior and reduce UV exposure. We appreciate each of these efforts toward this important cause, and these awards reflect our sincere gratitude for their dedication. ASDSA and its partners’ efforts are saving lives, and we want to acknowledge their part in making that happen.”

# # #

With a membership of 6,400+ physicians, ASDSA is a 501(c) (6) association, dedicated to education and advocacy on behalf of dermatologic surgeons and their patients. For more information, visit

Follow @ASDSAdvocacy on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram!