2020 State Legislative Patient Safety Hero Award Winner

Utah State Representative Bradley Daw won the State Legislative Patient Safety Hero Award for his sponsorship of a bill which would ban minors in Utah form using tanning facilities, a policy supported by ASDSA to help reduce the incidence of skin cancer.

Find out more

Each year, ASDSA recognizes individuals or organizations for assuming a leadership role in the promotion and protection of patient safety. Nominees are honored for their vital participation in a campaign focused on patient safety that raises awareness of ASDSA's advocacy priorities and demonstrates a model for success. Awardees are nominated by fellow ASDSA members and are announced each year at the ASDS/ASDSA Annual Meeting. The deadline for nomination letters is Aug. 1. Nominations can be emailed to advocacy@asds.net or faxed to 847-956-0999. Please include "Patient Safety Hero Award" on the cover sheet.

Patient Safety Hero Awards are presented in the following categories: 

Physician Patient Safety Hero: Presented to an ASDSA member 

The 2019 winner was Amy Brodsky, MD, Founder of Pediatric Sun Protection Foundation. Previous winners include Carrie L. Davis, MD; Aaron Mangold, MD; Mark B. Taylor, MD; David Watts, MD; and Lawrence J. Green, MD.

State Dermatological Society Patient Safety Hero: Presented to a state dermatological society

The Illinois Dermatology Society won the 2019 award. Previous winners include the Indiana Academy of Dermatology, Arizona Dermatology and Dermatologic Surgery Society, the Georgia Society of Dermatology and Dermatologic Surgery and the Massachusetts Academy of Dermatology. 

State and/or Federal Legislative Patient Safety Hero: Presented to a state and/or federal legislator

Previous recipients include: Illinois State Representative John Connor, Indiana State Senator Liz Brown, Nebraska State Senator Robert Hilkemann and Georgia State Senator Judson Hill.

State and/or Federal Regulatory Patient Safety Hero: Presented to a state and/or federal regulatory individual or agency 

Previous state winners include the Maryland Board of Pharmacy and the Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation.