Jumpstart Research Seed Grant Program 

Online Application will reopen in 2021.

This ASDS program serves as a catalyst to develop research initiatives for ASDS members. The intent is to give research investigators a chance to define objectives, test hypotheses and provide a better idea of feasibility and directionality of research before applying for additional funds from ASDS or other external sources.

2020 Kenneth A. Arndt Research Seed Grant Award

Supported By*: 
Murad Alam, MD, MBA; Ashish Bhatia, MD; Lauren Meshkov Bonati, MD; Daniel J. Callaghan, MD; Shraddha Desai, MD; Adele Haimovic, MD; Heather K. Hamilton, MD; Lori M. Hobbs, MD; David F. Horne, MD; Omer Ibrahim, MD; Vivek Iyengar, MD; Carolyn I. Jacob, MD; Melanie Kingsley, MD; Stephen Van Laborde, MD. Nicole Y. Lee, MD; Jennifer L. MacGregor, MD; Heidi Prather, MD; Rachel N. Pritzker, MD; Nicola Quatrano, MD; Nazanin A. Saedi, MD; Nathan S. Uebelhoer, DO; Naissan O. Wesley, MD

*Sponsoring Annual Research Seed Grants is a powerful way to honor or remember a loved one, friend, or colleague.  It is not only a vivid tribute and acknowledgment of their impact on your life and/or career; it’s also an enormous gesture of hope for the future the dermatologic surgery specialty. Your meaningful gift provides critical funds to encourage investigators and to stimulate meaningful scientific work to yield benefits for patient care, as well as safety and effectiveness of drugs and devices.


The ASDS Research Work Group encourages submission of research projects that stimulate the advancement of the practice of dermatologic surgery and document the outstanding and high-volume work of dermatologic surgeons. Up to $50,000 will be awarded in 2020 in amounts up to $10,000 per recipient.

2019 Jumpstart Research Seed Grant Program Winners

Recipient: Wesley Yu, MD

Institution: University of California San Francisco
Topic: Mechanism of Immune Tolerance: HPV, the PD-1/PD-L1 Pathway, and Squamous Cell Carcinoma

Recipient: Spencer Bezalel, MD

Institution: Mayo Clinic
Topic: Evaluation of non-invasive non-thermal irreversible electroporation on cutaneous tissue

Recipient: Jigar Patel, MD

Institution: Duke University
Topic: Evaluation of the accuracy of computer-guided laser delivery versus a human-operator for cutaneous applications